2020 Grammy Awards: Lizzo, Billie Eilish Top Nominations

Grammy host Alicia Keys announced the nominations for the 62nd annual Grammy Awards live on Wednesday, revealing artists like Lizzo and Billie Eilish as top contenders for 2020.

“You can cheat your sound to find an entry point, to get nice placements on Spotify or Apple Music or on the radio. You say, ‘[What’s popular] sounds like this,’ and you can get some success sooner,” explains Reed. “But with Lizzo, it was about patience. The process was slow, but the payoff when you don’t compromise your art is that you sound like no one else.”

The 38-year-old singer was joined in the simulcast by Recording Academy President and CEO Deborah Dugan, Harvey Mason Jr, chair of the Board of Trustees, “CBS This Morning” co-host Gayle King and two-time Grammy nominee Bebe Rexha to announce nominees in select categories. Artists like Taylor Swift and Lil’ Nas X were highlighted in the “big three” categories including, album, song, record of the year and best new artist.

A partial list of 2020 Grammy nominees is below:

Record of the Year

“Hey, Ma” – Bon Iver
“Bad Guy” – Billie Eilish
“7 Rings” – Ariana Grande
“Hard Place” – H.E.R.
“Talk” – Khalid
“Old Town Road” – Lil’ Nas X Featuring Billy Ray Cyrus
Truth Hurts” – Lizzo
“Sunflower” – Post Malone & Swae Lee

Album Of The Year

“I,I” – Bon Iver
“Norman F***ing Rockwell!” – Lana Del Rey
“When We All Fall Asleep, Where DO We Go?” – Billie Eilish
“Thank U, Next” – Ariana Grande
“I Used to Know Her” – H.E.R.
“7” – Lil’ Nas X
“Cuz I Love You (Delux)” – Lizzo
“Father of the Bride” – Vampire Weekend

Song of the Year

“Always Remember Us This Way” – Natalie Hemby, Lady Gaga, Hillary Lindsey & Lori McKenna, songwriters (Lady Gaga)
“Bad Guy” – Billie Eilish O’Connell & Finneas O’Connell, songwriters (Billie Eilish)
“Bring My Flowers Now” – Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth & Tanya Tucker, songwriters (Tanya Tucker)
“Hard Place” – Ruby Amanfu, Sam Ashworth, D. Arcelious Harris, H.E.R. & Rodney Jerkins, songwriters (H.E.R.)
“Lover” – Taylor Swift, songwriter (Taylor Swift)
“Someone You Loved” – Jack Antonoff & Lana Del Rey, songwriters (Lana Del Rey)
“Truth Hurts” – Steven Cheung, Eric Frederic, Melissa Jefferson & Jesse Saint John, songwriters (Lizzo)

Best New Artist

Black Pumas
Billie Eilish
Lil’ Nas X
Maggie Rogers
Tank and the Bangas

Best Pop Solo Performance

“Spirit” – Beyonce
“Bad Guy” – Billie Eilish
“Seven Rings” – Ariana Grande
“Truth Hurts” – Lizzo
“You Need to Calm Down” – Taylor Swift


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here